How to expunge a record in South Carolina
A criminal record, even an arrest, can change the course of your life. Having a conviction can affect your job, promotion, future employment, getting an apartment, even professional licensing. It shouldn’t, but with a conviction, that may be exactly what happens. If you find yourself in this situation, there is hope, you can do something about it. But you have to take action, you have to take the steps necessary to find out if you qualify. The first step is to contact a South Carolina expungement lawyer TODAY, I’m an experienced criminal defense attorney located in Charleston, SC. The consultation is free but the benefits could be huge. Call now at (843) 530-7813 or e-mail me with a description of you record. Not all criminal records are permanent, so find out if you can clean up your record.
Should one mistake ruin your life?
No it shouldn’t, and in South Carolina there is a process that lets you clean up your record, permanently. Not everyone qualifies, but if you do, the immediate and future benefits can be huge. It’s called an expungement.
What is an expungement?
An expungement is the destruction or obliteration of criminal records relating to an arrest or a conviction. So what exactly is destroyed? An expungement will destroy all publicly available traces of the arrest and/or conviction including any booking record, mug shots, and fingerprints.
If you were not convicted of a crime
Your arrest record and related documents can be expunged:
- For ANY charge;
- If the charges against you were dropped (nol prossed) by the solicitor, or dismissed by a judge;
- Successfully completed a pre trial diversionary program;
- Successfully completed a conditional discharge;
- You were found not guilty.
If you were convicted of a crime
If you were convicted of a crime then you may be eligible for an expungement in the following cases.
- First-offense conviction for a crime carrying a penalty of not more than 30 days imprisonment or a fine of $500, or both at least three (3) years from the date of conviction.
- A fraudulent check where you were convicted at least one (1) year from the date of conviction.
- Failure to stop for blue lights that was at least three (3) years from the date of conviction.
- First offense Criminal Domestic Violence (CDV) at least five (5) years from the date of conviction.