DUI Penalties in South Carolina

DUI 1st Penalties

The penalties for a DUI 1st can be harsh.  At a minimum the penalty for a DUI 1st offense conviction results in a 6 month license suspension, fines, enrollment in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP), SR-22 car insurance for 3 years, potential jail for up to 30 days, and a criminal conviction on your record for life as DUI convictions do not qualify for expungement in South Carolina.

Refusal up to 0.09% 0.10% to 0.15% Above 0.15%
Penalty
$400 fine or Jail = 48 hours up to 30 days
Penalty
$500 fine or Jail = 72 hours to 30 days
Penalty
$1,000 fine or Jail = 30 to 90 days
License suspension
6 months
License suspension
0.10-0.14% = 6 months
Above 0.15% = Indefinite & ignition interlock (6 months)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (6 months)
ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance

DUI 2nd Penalties

A conviction for DUI 2nd will at a minimum result in a jail sentence of 5 days up to 1 year and a fine between $2,100 to $5,100 and your drivers license will be suspended.

Before being re-issued a drivers license you will have to enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP), and carry SR-22 insurance for  3 years.

Refusal up to 0.09% 0.10% to 0.15% Above 0.15%
Penalty
$2,100-$5,100 fine and Jail = 5 days to 1 year
Penalty
$2,500-$5,500 fine and Jail = 30 days to 2 years
Penalty
$1,000 fine and Jail = 30 to 90 days
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (2 years)6 months
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (2 years)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (2 years)
ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance

DUI 3rd Penalties

A DUI 3rd conviction results in a minimum jail sentence of 60 days, fines, license suspension, ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle and before being re-issued a drivers license you will have to enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP), and carry SR-22 insurance for  3 years.

Refusal up to 0.09% 0.10% to 0.15% Above 0.15%
Penalty
$3,800-$6,300 fine and Jail = 60 days to 3 years
Penalty
$5,000-$7,500 fine and Jail = 90 days to 4 years
Penalty
$7,500-$10,000 fine and Jail = 6 months to 5 years
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (3 years)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (3 years)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (3 years)
ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance

DUI 4th Penalties

A DUI 4th is a felony with mandatory minimum prison sentences attached.

Refusal up to 0.09% 0.10% to 0.15% Above 0.15%
Penalty
Jail = 1 to 5 years
Penalty
Jail = 2 to 6 years
Penalty
Jail = 3 to 7 years
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (life)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (life)
License suspension
Indefinite & ignition interlock (life)
ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance ADSAP and SR-22 insurance

DUI Attorney, Mt. Pleasant SC​

The Dale Savage Law Firm handles all levels of DUI charges throughout South Carolina.  If you need help in your DUI case call today, the consultation is free(843) 530-7813.

Scroll to Top