Open Carry in South Carolina
As of August 15, 2021, the new open carry law for South Carolina goes into effect. The changes are part of the new legislation called The South Carolina open carry with training Act and today we are going to discuss the new law and what the new requirements are regarding carrying a firearm in South Carolina. Hi, my name is Dale Savage and I’m a criminal defense attorney here in Charleston, SC. Today we’re talking about South Carolina’s open carry law and how it is applied.
You can now open carry in South Carolina but there are limitations and you must have a concealed weapons permit to comply with the law. So, let’s go over the new changes in the law:
What does the open carry law allow?
- You can now carry a handgun openly on your person or in a vehicle.
- It applies to any firearm having a length of less than 12 inches, measured along its greatest dimension.
- You must have a concealed weapons permit and be at least 21 years of age.
- You must take eight hours of training and pass a background check that includes fingerprinting.
- The $50 fee for obtaining a permit has been eliminated.
Where you cannot open carry? (Yes)
- Businesses and private property owners can prohibit firearms, provided the ban is clearly marked by signs at the entrance.
- Local governments can restrict open carry on public property during events by posting signs prohibiting weapons.
- Weapons may not be carried at schools.
What is the training required?
The new open carry and training Act requires a person applying for a concealed weapons permit to complete a basic or advanced handgun training course within 3 years of applying for the permit. The course must include:
- Information on statutory and case law relating to handguns and deadly force.
- Information on handgun use and safety.
- Information on proper storage practices with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces accidental injury to a child.
- Actual firing of the handgun in the presence of an instructor (minimum of 25 rounds fired).
- Properly securing a firearm in a holster.
- How to respond to a person who attempts to take your firearm, and
- De-escalation techniques.
So, if you are facing a gun charge and would like to discuss your case and possible defenses, please call me at (843) 530-7813. I hope this video was helpful and thanks for watching.