On Friday April 11, 2014 the South Carolina Senate passed Bill S.137 known as “Emma’s Law” which now will be sent to Gov. Nikki Haley who will almost certainly sign it into law. South Carolina DUI laws have changed since October 1, 2014. The newly signed Emma’s law is now in effect for persons convicted of a DUI following October 1, 2014.
Why the change?
The bill is named after Emma Longstreet, who was a 6 year old girl tragically killed in a motor vehicle accident as she traveled to church with her parents, by a drunk driver who was a multiple DUI offender.
How does Emma’s Law change South Carolina’s DUI laws?
Blow 0.15 or higher
If you are convicted of a DUI and blow 0.15 or higher your license will be suspended for 6 months and it will be mandatory that all drivers have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed to your vehicle and be issued a IID restricted license. If you fail to do this, you will never be allowed to drive legally again. That’s right you will NEVER drive legally again.
Blow under 0.15
If you are convicted of a DUI and you blow less than 0.15 your license will be suspended for 6 months. However, in this case you will be eligible to obtain a Provisional License so you can drive during that 6 month period.
For subsequent convictions, the penalties and fines get worse.